levant's cyberspace

/blogposts/20230612_2.html

MENU

tv shows, movies and books are boring.


i cannot believe how absolutely mind-numbingly boring TV shows and movies are.

seriously, what is the point of sitting there and watching a story unfold without a tinge of interaction? it's like watching paint dry, except slightly more exciting.

i must preface this that i have the attention span of a goldfish, and considering how long these things are, i can't even sit through an entire movie without feeling like i am wasting my time, or completely forgetting the plot mid -movie.

but here's the thing: i have really tried to give these things a chance. i shoved them down my throat hoping i would find something worth watching. and sure, i have found a couple of gems, but for the most part, they are just boring .

and it's not just me, right? there HAS to be other people out there who feel the same way as me.

it's a very unpopular opinion, i know, but hear me out. i am not saying that all TV series and movies are bad, i am just saying that for me, they are incredibly boring.

and it's not just because of my short attention span, it's because they're (mostly) all the same. they follow the same old, tried and tested but tired formula, with the usual predictable plot twists and the same characters which are comparable to cardboard cut-outs.

now, who wants to sit through a three hour long movie or an entire season of a TV show? i am sure most of you do, but not me. absolutely NOT me.

for me, it's just not worth it. i'd rather spend my time doing something more interactive and engaging rather than watching characters doing their lines while i slump on my couch.

and you know what's even more boring than these things? READING.

that's right, reading. i find it to be even more insanely dull than sitting through a movie.

with a movie, there is at least some visual stimulation, but with a book, it's just words on a page.

now, you might use the lame argument: "but reading forces you to imagine the scenes! that's what makes it all the more fun!"

if you want to imagine scenes, just use your imagination and skip the reading altogether. make up some bullshit story in your head and enjoy the ride.

i thought about it. it's basically spending hours of my life reading a story that somebody else came up with. it's like willingly entering a state of boredom.

maybe i just don't like stories at all. maybe i am just not wired for it. in reality, i prefer consuming short, concise content, be it blog posts, youtube videos that barely break the 15 minute mark or mindlessly browsing the net. it works for me, it keeps me entertained.